Online Teen Courses

Online Acting Workshops for Teens (Ages 14–18)

Online courses for the serious young actor (ages 14–18) no matter where you are in the world! Study with AOA’s sister school, the Stella Adler Studio remotely through live Zoom sessions. Online classes are open to both US Residents and International Actors.


Fall 2020


TEEN WEEKEND CONSERVATORY: Session 1
8 Weeks, 7 Hours  |  Saturdays & Sundays  |  Tuition: $995
September 26–November 14, 2020
Saturdays, 11:00 AM–2:30 PM EDT (8:00–11:30 AM PDT)
Sundays 11:00 AM–3:30 PM EDT (8:00 AM–12:30 PM PDT)
The studio is excited to offer our popular conservatory program for teens online! This weekend intensive split over Saturdays and Sundays is structured to suit both the emerging and professional young actor seeking to train with the studio’s NYU Tisch & Conservatory faculty. The program will explore serious multi-disciplinary training in a conservatory environment in order to build a solid foundation in the actor’s craft while introducing Stella Adler’s approach to character development.
Classes: Scene Study, Acting Technique, Improvisation, Voice & Speech, Movement Techniques

COLLEGE AUDITION PREP
6 Weeks, 3 Hours  |  Sundays  |  Tuition: $350
October 4–November 8, 2020  |  3:30 PM–6:30 PM EDT (12:30PM–3:30PM PDT)
This class will comprehensively prepare the current high school senior or junior theatre student for the rigorous demands monologue audition process for BFA and BA theatre programs. This class combines the structure of a group class with the intimacy and personal attention of private coaching. Students will leave the class with polished audition material and fully prepared to audition for college programs.
Instructor: Christa Kimlicko Jones

SCENE STUDY
6 Weeks, 3 Hours |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $350
October 3–November 7, 2020  |  3:30 PM–6:30 PM EDT (12:30 PM–3:30 PM PDT)
Through scene work, acting exercises and script analysis, we will explore the creation of character focusing on relationships, actions and circumstances from scenes in contemporary plays.
Instructor: Judson Jones


Winter 2021


ACTING TECHNIQUE 1
4 Weeks  |  Saturdays  |  Tuition: $160
January 16–February 6, 2021  |  2:00–4:00 PM EDT (11:00 AM–1:00 PM PDT)
This Stella Adler® program explores the language and principles of Stella Adler’s approach to acting, including action, circumstance, and justification, rooted in the power of the imagination. Young artists will develop a foundation from which to build themselves as actors as well as human beings.
Instructor: Melissa Mickens

VOICE OF CHANGE
4 Weeks  |  Sundays  |  Tuition: $160
January 17–February 7, 2021  |  11:00 AM–1:00 PM EDT (8:00–10:00 AM PDT)
Own the power of your voice as we share the words of leaders, activists, and poets, including Greta Thunberg, Martin Luther King, Maya Angelou, and Ella Wheeler Wilcox. Together we will dive into their imaginations, speak the visions they paint through words for the way life could be, and move humanity forward through our speech. Each session begins with a thorough warmup to provide your speaking voice with its optimal freedom and clarity.
Instructor: Julie Congress


How to Apply to Workshops

New Students:
Admission to the Teen Online Courses is by entrance interview with the Director of Teen Programs. Applicants must be 14-18 years of age. To schedule an interview, please complete a Teen Online Courses Application Form first. Once the application is received, the administration will contact you to schedule an interview appointment. There is no commitment made when submitting the form.
Application Form Link: https://ste-web.scansoftware.com/cafeweb/tapestry?page=teen-online

Returning Students:
Current or former students of the Stella Adler Studio do not need to submit a new application. Please email christa@stellaadler.com for approval.